Le Prix Donner - Le Prix du meilleur ouvrage sur les politiques publiques rédigé par un auteur canadien.
English

Grant L. Reuber
Président

Conseiller principal et directeur du Cercle Sussex; chargé de recherche principal à l'Institut C.D. Howe; ancien président du Conseil de la Société canadienne d'assurance-dépôts; ancien président et chef de l'exploitation, et plus tard ancien vice-président, Banque de Montréal; ancien sous-ministre des Finances du Canada; ancien vice-recteur à l'enseignement, prévôt, et plus tard chancelier de l'Université Western Ontario.

Paul Boothe

Professeur et Directeur de l'Institute for Public Economics à l'Université de l'Alberta; titulaire d'une bourse EnCana en politique publique, Institut C.D. Howe; ancien sous-ministre des Finances de la Saskatchewan.

Pierre Lortie

Président et chef de l'exploitation, Bombardier Transport.

Elizabeth Parr-Johnston

Consultante et ancienne rectrice et vice-chancelière de l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick.

John G. Richards

Professeur de sciences commerciales à l'Université Simon Fraser, et collaborateur de l'Institut C.D. Howe.

Ouvrages participants et gagnants des années précédents 2000

Gagnant Du Prix Donner

FIRST NATIONS? SECOND THOUGHTS
par Marie Tom Flanagan
McGill-Queen's University Press

VOLONTIERS PROVOCANT, LE PR FLANAGAN DISSÈQUE dans First Nations? Second Thoughts les idées reçues sur lesquelles se fondent les politiques gouvernementales au Canada à l'égard des peuples autochtones, et dénonce cette nouvelle orthodoxie dont les conséquences enrichissent une élite de militants, de politiciens, de fonctionnaires et de gens d'affaires proches du pouvoir, tout en aggravant encore le désespoir de ceux que l'on prétend aider.

Professeur de sciences politiques à l'Université de Calgary, Tom Flanagan est l'auteur de trois ouvrages sur Louis Riel et les revendications territoriales des Métis

Second Favoris

CITIZENS PLUS: ABORIGINAL PEOPLES AND THE CANADIAN STATE
par Alan C. Cairns
UBC Press

CITIZENS PLUS EST UNE ANALYSE ADMIRABLEMENT DOCUMENTÉE, fouillée et objective des problématiques et du débat politique et juridique dont la position des autochtones au Canada est l'enjeu. Cet ouvrage est à signaler pour le réalisme avec lequel l'auteur révèle, dans un esprit positif, les contradictions fatales qui se trouvent au cœur de ce débat.

Alan C. Cairns est professeur invité au département de sciences politiques de l'Université de Waterloo.

THE CHARTER REVOLUTION AND THE COURT PARTY
par F.L. Morton and Rainer Knopff
Broadview Press

LES AUTEURS, TOUS DEUX UNIVERSITAIRES, analysent brillamment les facteurs politiques qui se conjuguent au Canada pour élargir la portée des droits garantis par la Charte. L'ouvrage contient plusieurs aperçus étonnants sur les alignements de forces qui ont abouti à certains des arrêts les plus controversés rendus récemment par la Cour suprême du Canada.

F.L. Morton et Rainer Knopff, auteurs (en collaboration et individuellement) de plusieurs ouvrages relatifs à la Charte, sont titulaires de doctorats de l'Université de Toronto et enseignent à l'Université de Calgary depuis 20 ans.

AUTRES LIVRES PRÉSÉLECTIONNÉS POUR 2000

CYCLING INTO SAIGON: THE CONSERVATIVE TRANSITION IN ONTARIO
par David R. Cameron and Graham White
UBC Press

COMMENT LA PASSATION DES POUVOIRS ENTRE DEUX PARTIS aux idéologies politiques diamétralement opposés a t elle pu s'accomplir en 1995 en Ontario? Les auteurs de cet ouvrage passionnant relatent un épisode de collaboration politique étonnante et finalement réussie. Cycling into Saigon recèle des leçons importantes pour quiconque s'intéresse à ce moment clé du processus électoral, en Ontario ou ailleurs.

David R. Cameron et Graham White sont professeurs au département de sciences politiques de l'Université de Toronto.

THE MARSHALL DECISION AND NATIVE RIGHTS
par Ken Coates
McGill-Queen's University Press

LE PR COATES RÉVÈLE AVEC PERSPICACITÉ les conséquences interculturelles, juridiques et politiques de l'arrêt récemment rendu par la Cour suprême dans l'affaire Donald Marshall, et décrit les événements, les personnalités et les conflits qui ont amené les Maritimes au bord d'un affrontement majeur.

Ken Coates, historien et auteur de nombreux ouvrages sur les peuples autochtones du Canada, est souvent consulté par les gouvernements et les médias dans les dossiers autochtones.

HEAVY TRAFFIC: DEREGULATION, TRADE, AND TRANSFORMATION IN NORTH AMERICAN TRUCKING
par Daniel Madar
UBC Press

CET OUVRAGE EST UN EXPOSÉ ÉNERGIQUE et lucide (et fort bien écrit, ce qui ne gâte rien) de la libéralisation du camionnage - secteur jusque-là hautement réglementé - aux États-Unis et au Canada après 1980, et de la transformation de cette industrie sous l'effet conjugué du libre-échange et de l'évolution de l'économie.

Daniel Madar est professeur est professeur agrégé au département de sciences politiques à l'Université Brock.

RETREAT FROM GROWTH: ATLANTIC CANADA AND THE NEGATIVE-SUM ECONOMY
by Fred McMahon
Atlantic Institute for Market Studies

AYANT FAIT L'OBJET D'UNE RECHERCHE TRÈS MINUTIEUSE, cet ouvrage constitue une contribution importante au débat qui continue de se dérouler au sujet du statut économique actuel du Canada atlantique. M. McMahon y présente une analyse convaincante des effets des politiques poursuivies au cours des trente dernières années dans cette région et propose un modèle d'évaluation clair et objectif établi à partir de preuves se prêtant à des comparaisons.

Fred McMahon est Directeur du Centre des affaires sociales à l'Institut Fraser.

Gagnants des années précédents

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2001

2000

1999

1998

The Donner Prize - The Award for the Best Book on Canadian Public Policy
Francais

Grant L. Reuber
Chair

Senior Advisor and Director, Sussex Circle; Senior Fellow, C.D. Howe Institute; former Chairman, Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation; former President and Chief Operating Officer and later Deputy Chairman, Bank of Montreal; former Deputy Minister of Finance for Canada; former Vice-President (academic), Provost and later Chancellor of the University of Western Ontario.

Paul Boothe

Professor and Director of the Institute for Public Economics at the University of Alberta; former Deputy Minister for the Province of Saskatchewan.

Pierre Lortie

President and Chief Operating Officer, Bombardier Transportation.

Elizabeth Parr-Johnston

Consultant and former President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of New Brunswick.

John G. Richards

Professor at the Faculty of Business at Simon Fraser University; Scholar-in-Residence at the C.D. Howe Institute.

Past Winners 2000

Winner

FIRST NATIONS? SECOND THOUGHTS
by Tom Flanagan
McGill-Queen's University Press

CONTROVERSIAL AND THOUGHT PROVOKING, Professor Flanagan's First Nations? Second Thoughts dissects the prevailing orthodoxy that determines public policy towards Canada's aboriginal peoples. He demonstrates that the policy this orthodoxy produces enriches a small elite of activists, politicians, administrators, and well-connected entrepreneurs, while bringing further misery to the very people it is supposed to help.

Tom Flanagan is professor of political science at the University of Calgary. He has published three previous books on Louis Riel and Metis land claims.

Runners-Up

CITIZENS PLUS: ABORIGINAL PEOPLES AND THE CANADIAN STATE
by Alan C. Cairns
UBC Press

CITIZENS PLUS IS A WONDERFULLY INFORMED, well-documented and balanced analysis of the issues and political and legal debates concerning the position of Aboriginal peoples in Canada. More importantly, it addresses in a positive and realistic manner the fatal flaws that surround much of the debate.

Alan C. Cairns is a Visiting Professor in the Department of Political Science at the University of Waterloo.

THE CHARTER REVOLUTION AND THE COURT PARTY
by F.L. Morton and Rainer Knopff
Broadview Press

PROFESSORS MORTON AND KNOPF HAVE PRODUCED a superb analysis of the political dynamics at work within Canada to expand the meaning of the rights guaranteed under the Charter. The book contains several eye-opening portraits that help us to understand the alignment of forces behind some of the most controversial Supreme Court of Canada decisions.

F.L. Morton and Rainer Knopff received their PhD's from the University of Toronto and have both taught at the University of Calgary for the past twenty years. Writing together and separately, they have authored several books about the Charter.

Other 2000 Short-listed Books

CYCLING INTO SAIGON: THE CONSERVATIVE TRANSITION IN ONTARIO
by David R. Cameron and Graham White
UBC Press

IN THIS FASCINATING WORK, THE AUTHORS examine how the transition of government in Ontario in 1995 was a surprising success involving, as it did, the necessity of co-operation between political mortal enemies. Cycling into Saigon has important lessons for everyone involved or interested in this key stage of the electoral process, wherever it takes place.

David R. Cameron and Graham White are professors in the Department of Political Science at the University of Toronto.

THE MARSHALL DECISION AND NATIVE RIGHTS
by Ken Coates
McGill-Queen's University Press

PROFFESOR COATES PROVIDES PENETRATING INSIGHT into the cross-cultural, legal, and political implications of the recent Supreme Court decision on the Donald Marshall case. He describes the events, personalities, and conflicts that brought the Maritimes to the brink of a major confrontation.

Ken Coates is an historian, advisor to government and frequent commentator on Aboriginal issues, as well as the author of many books on Canada's Native peoples.

HEAVY TRAFFIC: DEREGULATION, TRADE, AND TRANSFORMATION IN NORTH AMERICAN TRUCKING
by Daniel Madar
UBC Press

PROFESSOR MADAR PROVIDES A STRONG, well-crafted and insightful account of the process by which the highly regulated trucking industry was deregulated after 1980 in the U.S. and Canada, and how, in conjunction with free trade and industrial changes, the trucking business has been transformed.

Daniel Madar is an associate professor in the Department of Political Science at Brock University.

RETREAT FROM GROWTH: ATLANTIC CANADA AND THE NEGATIVE-SUM ECONOMY
by Fred McMahon
Atlantic Institute for Market Studies

THIS BOOK IS A PARTICULARLY WELL RESEARCED and important contribution to the on-going debate about the current economic status of Atlantic Canada. McMahon delivers a cogent analysis of the effects of the policies pursued over the last thirty years and proposes a clear and objective benchmark based on comparative evidence.

Fred McMahon is Director of the Social Affairs Centre at The Fraser Institute.