Le Prix Donner - Le Prix du meilleur ouvrage sur les politiques publiques rédigé par un auteur canadien.
English

Grant L. Reuber
Président

Conseiller principal et directeur du Cercle Sussex; chargé de recherche principal à l'Institut C.D. Howe; ancien président du Conseil de la Société canadienne d'assurance-dépôts; ancien président et chef de l'exploitation, et plus tard ancien vice-président, Banque de Montréal; ancien sous-ministre des Finances du Canada; ancien vice-recteur à l'enseignement, prévôt, et plus tard chancelier de l'Université Western Ontario.

Paul Boothe

Professeur et Directeur de l'Institute for Public Economics à l'Université de l'Alberta; titulaire d'une bourse EnCana en politique publique, Institut C.D. Howe; ancien sous-ministre des Finances de la Saskatchewan.

Claude E. Forget

Ancien ministre de la Santé au gouvernement du Québec, ancien président de la Commission d'enquête sur l'assurance-chômage et Officier de l'Ordre du Canada, sera de nouveau membre du jury.

Elizabeth Parr-Johnston

Consultante et ancienne rectrice et vice-chancelière de l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick.

John G. Richards

Professeur de sciences commerciales à l'Université Simon Fraser, et collaborateur de l'Institut C.D. Howe.

Ouvrages participants et gagnants des années précédents 2002

Gagnant Du Prix Donner

GLOBALIZATION AND WELL-BEING
de John F. Helliwell
UBC Press

CHERCHEURS ET DÉCIDEURS SONT EN QUÊTE DE critères plus étendus pour évaluer l'impact économique et social des politiques gouvernementales sur les citoyens, leurs familles et leurs collectivités, et sur les nations elles-mêmes. Cet ouvrage convaincant, dérangeant, voire provocateur présente les conclusions des nouvelles recherches sur le capital social et le bien-être, et en applique les leçons aux grands défis que doivent relever aussi bien les citoyens que les gouvernements à l'heure de la mondialisation. Globalization and Well-Being plaide pour un programme de recherche et pour des politiques gouvernementales explicitement axés sur le bien-être de chacun.

John F. Helliwell est professeur de sciences économiques à l'Université de Colombie-Britannique. Il a mené des recherches et publié des ouvrages sur de nombreux aspects de l'économie et des politiques gouvernementales. Entre 1999 et 2001, il a occupé la chaire Brenda and David McLean d'études canadiennes.

Seconds Favoris

TAKEN BY STORM: Troubled Science, Policy and Politics of Global Warming
de Christopher Essex et Ross McKitrick
Key Porter Books

LE RÉCHAUFFEMENT DE LA PLANÈTE FAIT-IL RÉELLEMENT planer sur l'humanité la plus grave menace de l'heure? Notre climat et son évolution s'expliquent par des phénomèmes parmi les plus complexes dans notre univers, et les scientifiques s'avouent incapables de prévoir avec exactitude l'avenir de notre environnement. Et pourtant, le monde entier vient de se doter de tout un édifice de politiques gouvernementales fondé précisément sur une double hypothèse : non seulement nous comprenons l'évolution du climat, mais encore nous pouvons la maîtriser. Dans cet ouvrage fascinant et solidement charpenté, les auteurs de Taken by Storm expliquent les facteurs scientifiques en jeu dans le changement climatique et dénoncent un mythe largement répandu, le prétendu phénomène du réchauffement de la planète.

Christopher Essex est professeur au département de mathématiques appliquées de l'Université Western Ontario et professeur invité au Laboratoire Ørsted de l'Institut Niels Bohr.
Ross McKitrick est professeur agrégé au département de sciences économiques de l'Université de Guelph et chercheur au Fraser Institute de Vancouver (C.-B.).

WHO GETS IN: What's Wrong with Canada's Immigration Program - and How to Fix It
de Daniel Stoffman
Macfarlane Walter & Ross

LES ATTENTATS DU 11 SEPTEMBRE 2001 ONT JETÉ UNE LUMIÈRE CRUE SUR LES LACUNES du système canadien d'immigration et de traitement des demandes de statut de réfugié. Cette synthèse d'envergure de la politique canadienne en matière d'immigration - depuis longtemps objet de controverse - vient donc à point : l'auteur de Who Gets In se prononce en faveur d'un programme responsable d'accueil et de traitement humanitaire des immigrants et des réfugiés, mais constate que la réalité ne correspond pas à cet idéal. Daniel Stoffman aligne une argumentation serrée, étayée par une solide documentation, à l'appui de son réquisitoire contre les idées reçues qui sous-tendent la politique canadienne d'immigration.

Daniel Stoffman est le co-auteur, avec David Foot, de Boom Bust & Echo, l'un des ouvrages les plus vendus dans l'histoire de l'édition au Canada. Il s'intéresse à l'immigration depuis qu'il a rédigé un mémoire sur la question pour l'Institut C.D. Howe après avoir bénéficié d'une bourse Atkinson pour l'étude des politiques gouvernementales.

Autres Livres Présélectionnés pour 2002

LIQUID ASSETS: Privatizing and Regulating Canada's Water Utilities
de Elizabeth Brubaker
University of Toronto Centre for Public Management

IL Y A DÉJÀ PLUS DE DEUX ANS QUE DE L'EAU CONTAMINÉE rendait 2300 personnes malades, dont deux mortellement, à Walkerton (Ontario). Elizabeth Brubaker constate que " même si l'on a cru à l'époque que le problème de l'eau serait désormais impossible à ignorer, beaucoup de responsables se cantonnent toujours dans l'inaction, aussi bien au sein des réseaux de distribution qu'au niveau des pouvoirs publics ". Passionnant, lucide et étayé par une documentation méticuleuse, Liquid Assets est un brillant ouvrage sur un sujet primordial. Elizabeth Brubaker nous livre avec autant de conviction que d'éloquence les conclusions de son enquête sur la privatisation des réseaux de distribution d'eau et de prise en charge des eaux usées dans le monde entier.

Elizabeth Brubaker est directrice générale du centre torontois d'études sur l'environnement Environment Probe. Elle a déjà fait paraître Property Rights in the Defence of Nature.

A TRADING NATION: Canadian Trade Policy from Colonialism to Globalization
de Michael Hart
UBC Press

DEPUIS L'ÉPOQUE DE LA PÊCHE Á LA MORUE ET DE LA TRAITE des fourrures, le Canada est un pays d'importation et d'exportation. Aujourd'hui, les échanges internationaux atteignent la proportion remarquable de 90 % de notre produit national brut. Notre prospérité même est fondée sur le commerce avec l'étranger. Dans A Trading Nation, Michael Hart expose et analyse brillamment les antécédents historiques de la politique commerciale moderne du Canada, développant une réflexion originale sur l'histoire économique de notre pays sous l'angle clé des échanges commerciaux au niveau national et international.

Michael Hart occupe la chaire Simon Reisman de politique commerciale à l'Université Carleton et est l'auteur de nombreux ouvrages et articles sur le commerce international.

THE COST OF CLIMATE POLICY
de Mark Jaccard, John Nyboer et Bryn Sadownik
UBC Press

COMBIEN EN COÛTERA-T-IL AU CANADA, ET EN FAIT AU MONDE ENTIER, pour réduire la production de gaz à effet de serre? Même si nous parvenons à relever ce défi, quel en sera le prix pour chacun de nous, pour nos entreprises, pour nos collectivités? The Cost of Climate Policy brosse un vaste tableau de ces dossiers brûlants d'actualité, indispensable pour les spécialistes mais aussi passionnant pour le lecteur curieux d'en savoir plus sur les conséquences économiques du changement climatique.

Mark Jaccard est professeur au département de gestion des ressources et de l'environnement à l'Université Simon Fraser, et directeur de l'Energy and Materials Research Group. John Nyboer est directeur de la recherche à l'Energy and Materials Research Group et directeur général du Canadian Industrial Energy End-Use Data and Analysis Centre. Bryn Sadownik est chercheur à l'Energy and Materials Research Group.

JUSTICE BEHIND THE WALLS: Human Rights in Canadian Prisons
de Michael Jackson
Douglas & McIntyre

JUSTICE BEHIND THE WALLS EST UN APERÇU SAISISSANT ET PROFONDÉMENT troublant de la justice et de l'injustice dans nos prisons. À une époque où la montée de l'insécurité publique menace de nous faire oublier les droits des détenus, Michael Jackson nous fait pénétrer dans l'univers carcéral, au-delà des idées reçues sur les prisonniers et ceux qui les surveillent. Œuvre d'un expert passionnément engagé, ce livre expose dans les moindres détails un ensemble de solutions qui pourraient, si elles sont retenues par les pouvoirs publics et le législateur, accroître encore le rayonnement du Canada et le prestige dont il jouit à l'échelle internationale en tant que promoteur d'un modèle de société juste.

Michael Jackson se consacre depuis plus de 30 ans à la cause des droits de la personne au Canada et dans le monde. Il a plaidé des causes décisives pour les droits des autochtones et des détenus devant la Cour suprême du Canada. Il a été nommé conseiller de la Reine en 1999.

Gagnants des années précédents

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2001

2000

1999

1998

The Donner Prize - The Award for the Best Book on Canadian Public Policy
Francais

Grant L. Reuber
Chair

Senior Advisor and Director, Sussex Circle; Senior Fellow, C.D. Howe Institute; former Chairman, Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation; former President and Chief Operating Officer and later Deputy Chairman, Bank of Montreal; former Deputy Minister of Finance for Canada; former Vice-President (academic), Provost and later Chancellor of the University of Western Ontario.

Paul Boothe

Professor and Director of the Institute for Public Economics at the University of Alberta; former Deputy Minister for the Province of Saskatchewan.

Claude E. Forget

Consultant and former Minister of Health for the Quebec government; former Chairman of the Commission of Enquiry on Unemployment Insurance.

Elizabeth Parr-Johnston

Consultant and former President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of New Brunswick.

John G. Richards

Professor at the Faculty of Business at Simon Fraser University; Scholar-in-Residence at the C.D. Howe Institute.

Past Winners 2002

Winner

GLOBALIZATION AND WELL-BEING
by John F. Helliwell
UBC Press

RESEARCHERS AND DECISION MAKERS ARE TAKING A NEW LOOK at public policies to find broader grounds for assessing their economic and social impacts on individuals, families, communities and nations. Provocative, authoritative and challenging, Globalization and Well-Being introduces this new research on social capital and well-being and applies it to key issues facing individuals and governments in the age of globalization. Throughout the book, Helliwell emphasizes well-being as an explicit focus for research and for public policies.

John F. Helliwell is a Professor of Economics at the University of British Columbia. His research and publications have covered many aspects of economics and public policy. He held the Brenda and David McLean Chair of Canadian Studies from 1999 to 2001.

Runners-Up

TAKEN BY STORM: Troubled Science, Policy and Politics of Global Warming
by Christopher Essex and Ross McKitrick
Key Porter Books

IS GLOBAL WARMING THE GREATEST THREAT FACING HUMANITY TODAY?The physical phenomena in climate and weather change are among the most complex in nature, and science can say very little about what will happen to our environment in the future. Yet a large international policy framework has been built precisely on the assumption that we know what is happening and how to control it. A well-crafted, fascinating read, Taken by Storm explains the science of climate change and deconstructs the widespread myth of global warming.

Christopher Essex is a Professor in the Department of Applied Mathematics at the University of Western Ontario and a visiting professor at the Niels Bohr Institute's Ørsted Laboratory. Ross McKitrick is an Associate Professor in the Department of Economics at the University of Guelph and a Senior Fellow of the Fraser Institute in Vancouver, B.C.

WHO GETS IN: What's Wrong with Canada's Immigration Program - and How to Fix It
by Daniel Stoffman
Macfarlane Walter & Ross

THE TERRORISM OF SEPTEMBER 11, 2001, TURNED AN INTENSE SPOTLIGHT on Canada's lax immigration and refugee programs. Who Gets In is a timely and important exploration of Canada's immigration policy - a subject that has long been at the centre of controversy. Stoffman supports responsible immigration and a compassionate refugee program, but maintains that we have neither. Tightly argued, well-researched, opinionated and combative, Stoffman's book debunks a host of myths upon which Canadian's immigration policy is based.

Daniel Stoffman is co-author, with David Foot, of Boom Bust & Echo, one of the best-selling titles in Canadian history. His expertise in the area of immigration dates back to 1991, when he used an Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy to study the subject and produce a background paper for the C.D. Howe Institute.

Other 2002 Short-listed Books

LIQUID ASSETS: Privatizing and Regulating Canada's Water Utilities
by Elizabeth Brubaker
University of Toronto Centre for Public Management

MORE THAN TWO YEARS HAVE PASSED SINCE contaminated water killed seven people and made 2,300 ill in Walkerton, Ontario. "People widely referred to Walkerton as a wake-up call, but many utilities and regulators are still sleeping," says Brubaker. Liquid Assets is a first-class book on an important subject. Intriguing, well-written and meticulously documented, the author provides an authoritative and readable study of privatization of water and waste-water facilities around the world.

Elizabeth Brubaker is the Executive Director of Environment Probe, a Toronto-based environmental think-tank. She is the author of Property Rights in the Defence of Nature.

A TRADING NATION: Canadian Trade Policy from Colonialism to Globalization
by Michael Hart
UBC Press

CANADA HAS ALWAYS BEEN A TRADING NATION. From the early days of fur and fish to the present, when a remarkable ninety percent of our gross national product is attributable to exports and imports, Canadians have relied on international trade to bolster our economy. A Trading Nation is a brilliantly constructed overview and analysis of the historical foundations of modern Canadian trade policy - a remarkable economic history seen from the all-important perspective of international and Canadian trade policies.

Michael Hart is Simon Reisman Chair in Trade Policy, Carleton University, and author of numerous books and articles on international trade issues.

THE COST OF CLIMATE POLICY
by Mark Jaccard, John Nyboer and Bryn Sadownik
UBC Press

REDUCING GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS IS A MAJOR environmental challenge facing Canada and the world, but how much will this cost? What will it mean on a personal, business or community level? The Cost of Climate Policy is a comprehensive look at these pressing issues. As indispensable as this book will be to policy analysts, it is also an important primer for a wider range of readers interested in the economic implications of climate change.

Mark Jaccard is a Professor in the School of Resource and Environmental Management, Simon Fraser University and is Director of the Energy and Materials Research Group. John Nyboer is Research Director of the Energy and Materials Research Group, as well as Executive Director of the Canadian Industrial Energy Efficiency Data and Analysis Centre. Bryn Sadownik is a Research Associate in the Energy and Materials Research Group.

JUSTICE BEHIND THE WALLS: Human Rights in Canadian Prisons
by Michael Jackson
Douglas & McIntyre

JUSTICE BEHIND THE WALLS IS A COMPELLING, profoundly unsettling look at the state of justice - and injustice - in our prisons. At a time when the issue of human rights in prison is dangerously close to being eclipsed by rising waves of fear about public safety, Michael Jackson takes us beyond the stereotypes of the keeper and the kept. Passionate, detailed and written by a highly knowledgeable and committed expert, this book brings to the agenda of public and legal debate a remedial toolbox with the potential to enhance Canada's claim as an international model for a just society.

Michael Jackson has worked to advance the cause of human rights in Canada and internationally for more than thirty years. As a lawyer, he has been involved in landmark cases on aboriginal and prisoners' rights before the Supreme Court of Canada. In 1999, he was appointed Queen's Counsel.