Le Prix Donner - Le Prix du meilleur ouvrage sur les politiques publiques rédigé par un auteur canadien.
English

Grant L. Reuber
Président

Conseiller principal et directeur du Cercle Sussex, chargé de recherche principal à l'Institut C.D. Howe, ancien président du Conseil de la Société canadienne d'assurance-dépôts, ancien président et chef de l'exploitation, et plus tard vice-président du Conseil, de la Banque de Montréal, ancien sous-ministre des Finances du Canada, ancien prévôt et vice-recteur à l'enseignement de l'Université Western Ontario et Officier de l'Ordre du Canada.

Jim Dinning

Premier vice-président, TransAlta Corporation; ancien trésorier provincial, ancien ministre de l'éducation et ancien ministre de la Santé communautaire et de l'Hygiène professionnelle de l'Alberta.

Claude E. Forget

Ancien ministre de la Santé au gouvernement du Québec, ancien président de la Commission d'enquête sur l'assurance-chômage et Officier de l'Ordre du Canada, sera de nouveau membre du jury.

L'Hon. Donald S. MacDonald

Conseiller principal, chargé des politiques publiques chez Lang Michener; ancien ministre de la Défense nationale, ancien ministre des Finances et ancien ministre de l'énergie, des Mines et des Ressources; ancien président de la Commission royale sur l'union économique (Commission MacDonald); ancien Haut-commissaire du Canada en Grande-Bretagne et Irlande du Nord.

Elizabeth Parr-Johnston

Consultante et ancienne rectrice et vice-chancelière de l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l'Université Mount Saint Vincent.

Ouvrages participants et gagnants des années précédents 2004

Gagnant Du Prix Donner

Two Percent Target: Canadian Monetary Policy Since 1991
par David E.W. Laidler & William B.P. Robson
C.D. Howe Institute

Two Percent Target poffre une explication instructive et à la portée de tous des aspects économiques de la politique monétaire, ainsi qu'un compte rendu lucide de son application au Canada au cours des années 1990. Explicite et passionnant, cet ouvrage analyse l'incidence de la politique de la Banque du Canada sur l'économie et les façons dont les Canadiens et leurs représentants élus tiennent les artisans de la politique monétaire responsables de ses résultats. Il s'agit là d'un ouvrage indispensable pour tous les Canadiens qui s'intéressent à l'économie politique.

David E.W. Laidler est titulaire de la chaire de la Banque de Montréal et professeur émérite de l'Université Western Ontario, ainsi que boursier en résidence à l'Institut C.D. Howe. William B.P. Robson est premier vice-président et directeur de la recherche de l'Institut C.D. Howe.

Seconds Favoris

Blockbusters and Trade Wars: Popular Culture in a Globalized World
par Peter S. Grant & Chris Wood
Douglas & McIntyre

Blockbusters and Trade Wars est le premier ouvrage examinant sous une perspective canadienne la question de savoir où et comment les objets culturels sont fabriqués, la raison pour laquelle ils sont si différents des autres produits manufacturés, et pourquoi on doit les traiter autrement que les autre. De la meilleure encre, ce livre constitue une analyse magistrale de la dynamique du marché qui attire les foules vers les films, les émissions de télévision, les livres et les artistes du disque à grand succès - aux dépens de productions nationales indépendantes, alternatives et de plus en plus essentielles.

Peter S. Grant est un éminent avocat canadien spécialiste de la communication. Associé principal au cabinet McCarthy Tetrault, il a représenté des clients de tous les domaines des mass media. Chris Wood est un ancien correspondant en chef de Maclean's, et l'auteur de deux livres.

Smoke & Mirrors: Globalized Terrorism and the Illusion of Multilateral Security
par Frank P. Harvey
University of Toronto Press

Dans cet ouvrage, Harvey fait un vibrant plaidoyer en faveur de l'unilatéralisme américain en dénonçant les coûts réels, les risques possibles et les faillites catastrophiques des démarches multilatérales. Il expose en détail les liens entre la mondialisation, le terrorisme et l'unilatéralisme, et fournit une explication et une apologie systématiques de la réponse de Washington aux menaces terroristes et à la prolifération des armes de destruction massive. Ce livre remarquable traite également des politiques essentielles aux intérêts et à la prospérité du Canada.

Frank P. Harvey est professeur au Département de science politique et directeur du Centre d'études sur la politique étrangère de l'Université Dalhousie.

Feminist Activism in the Supreme Court: Legal Mobilization and the Women's Legal Education and Action Fund par Christopher P. Manfredi
UBC Press

Depuis 1980, le mouvement des femmes canadiennes prend une part active à l'élaboration des politiques constitutionnelles et au contentieux fondé sur la Charte. Bien écrit, équilibré et objectif, Feminist Activism in the Supreme Court met l'accent sur le Fonds d'action et d'éducation juridiques pour les femmes (FAEJ), pour mener un examen fascinant du rôle déterminant des féministes canadiennes dans l'élaboration de la doctrine constitutionnelle de l'égalité, et de la façon dont elles ont mis cette doctrine au service du programme d'action de leur mouvement.

Christopher P. Manfredi est professeur d'études politiques à l'Université McGill.

The Hateful and the Obscene: Studies in the Limits of Free Expression
par L.W. Sumner
University of Toronto Press

The Hateful and the Obscene avance une interprétation solidement étayée de la liberté d'expression, où une réflexion philosophique sérieuse est centrée sur le droit canadien. Ouvrage de premier rang, traitant d'un domaine complexe et ardu, ce livre fait une analyse parfois accablante des normes et pratiques établies, présente des approches différentes pour faire face à des problèmes importants, et formule des recommandations de principe concrètes et bien documentées.

L.W. Sumner is University Professor of Philosophy at the University of Toronto.

The Donner Prize - The Award for the Best Book on Canadian Public Policy
Francais

Grant L. Reuber
Chair

Senior Advisor and Director, Sussex Circle; Senior Fellow, C.D. Howe Institute; former Chairman, Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation; former President and Chief Operating Officer and later Deputy Chairman, Bank of Montreal; former Deputy Minister of Finance for Canada; former Vice-President (academic), Provost and later Chancellor of the University of Western Ontario.

Jim Dinning

Executive vice-president, TransAlta Corporation; former Provincial Treasurer, former Minister of Education, and former Minister of Community and Occupational Health for Alberta.

Claude E. Forget

Former Minister of Health for the Quebec government; former Chairman of the Commission of Enquiry on Unemployment Insurance; Officer of the Order of Canada.

Hon. Donald S. MacDonald

Senior Advisor, Public Policy at Lang Michener; former Minister of National Defence, Finance and Energy, Mines and Resources; former Chairman, Royal Commission on Economic Union (the Macdonald Commission); former Canadian High Commissioner to Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

Elizabeth Parr-Johnston

Consultant and former President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of New Brunswick and of Mount Saint Vincent University.

Past Winners 2004

Winner

Two Percent Target: Canadian Monetary Policy Since 1991
by David E.W. Laidler & William B.P. Robson
C.D. Howe Institute

Two Percent Target provides an informative and accessible explanation of the economics of monetary policy and a lucid account of its operation in Canada through the 1990s. Clear and enticing, Two Percent Target offers insights into the way Bank of Canada policy affects the economy and the means by which Canadians and their elected representatives hold the makers of monetary policy accountable for their performance. It is essential reading for all Canadians interested in economic policy.

David E.W. Laidler is Bank of Montreal Professor and Professor Emeritus of Economics at the University of Western Ontario and Fellow-in-Residence at the C.D. Howe Institute. William B.P. Robson is Senior Vice President and Director of Research at the C.D. Howe Institute.

Runners-Up

Blockbusters and Trade Wars: Popular Culture in a Globalized World
by Peter S. Grant & Chris Wood
Douglas & McIntyre

Blockbusters and Trade Wars is the first book from a Canadian perspective to investigate the facts about where and how cultural artifacts are created, why they are so different from other manufactured products and why they must be treated differently. Exceedingly well-written, it is a masterful analysis that focuses upon the market dynamics that drive audiences to "blockbuster" films, TV programs, books and recording artists - at the expense of independent, alternative and increasingly necessary national voices.

Peter S. Grant is one of Canada's leading communications lawyers. A senior partner at McCarthy Tetrault, he has represented clients in every branch of popular media. Chris Wood is a former senior bureau chief for Maclean's and is the author of two previous books.

Smoke & Mirrors: Globalized Terrorism and the Illusion of Multilateral Security
by Frank P. Harvey
University of Toronto Press

In Smoke & Mirrors, Harvey mounts a powerful case for American unilateralism by exposing the real costs, potential risks and catastrophic failures of multilateral alternatives. He details the relationship between globalization, terrorism and unilateralism and provides a systematic explanation for, and defence of, Washington's response to threats of terrorism and proliferation of weapons of mass destruction. This masterful work also addresses policies essential to the interests and well-being of Canada.

Frank P. Harvey is a professor in the Department of Political Science and the director of the Centre for Foreign Policy Studies at Dalhousie University.

Feminist Activism in the Supreme Court: Legal Mobilization and the Women's Legal Education and Action Fund
by Christopher P. Manfredi
UBC Press

Since 1980, the Canadian women's movement has been an active participant in constitutional politics and Charter litigation. Well-written, balanced and objective, Feminist Activism in the Supreme Court, through its focus on the Women's Legal Education and Action Fund (LEAF), presents a compelling examination of how Canadian feminists became key actors in developing the constitutional doctrine of equality and how they mobilized that doctrine to support the movement's policy agenda.

Christopher P. Manfredi is a professor of Political Studies at McGill University.

The Hateful and the Obscene: Studies in the Limits of Free Expression
by L.W. Sumner
University of Toronto Press

The Hateful and the Obscene is a compelling interpretation of freedom of expression that combines serious philosophical thought with a focus on Canadian law. A first-rate work dealing with complex and difficult subject matter, it presents a sometimes devastating analysis of established norms and practices, alternative ways of dealing with important problems and concrete, well-explained policy recommendations.

L.W. Sumner is University Professor of Philosophy at the University of Toronto.