Le Prix Donner - Le Prix du meilleur ouvrage sur les politiques publiques rédigé par un auteur canadien.
English

Grant L. Reuber
Président

Grant L. Reuber chargé de recherche principal à l'Institut C.D. Howe; ancien président du Conseil de la Société canadienne d'assurance-dépôts; ancien président et chef de l'exploitation, et plus tard vice-président du Conseil de la Banque de Montréal; ancien sous-ministre des Finances du Canada; ancien vice-recteur à l'enseignement et vice-chancelier de l'Université Western Ontario; officier de l'Ordre du Canada.

Claude E. Forget

Claude E. Forget, ancien ministre de la Santé du Québec; ancien président de la Commission d'enquête sur l'assurance-chômage; officier de l'Ordre du Canada.

V. Peter Harder

Peter Harder, est conseiller principal sur les stratégies chez Fraser Milner Casgrain S.E.N.C.R.L. Il possède une longue expérience des politiques publiques, acquise au fil d'une carrière de 30 ans passée au cœur même du processus décisionnel du gouvernement. Nommé sous-ministre en 1991, il détient le record de longévité dans cette fonction au sein du gouvernement du Canada. Il a dirigé l'administration de plusieurs départements, dont le Conseil du Trésor, et les ministères du Solliciteur général, de la Citoyenneté et de l'Immigration, de l'Industrie, et des Affaires étrangéres et du Commerce international. Dans ce dernier poste, il a été représentant personnel du Premier ministre à trois sommets du G8 (Sea Island, Gleneagles et Saint-Pétersbourg). En 2000, la Gouverneure-générale lui a remis le Prix du Premier ministre pour services insignes de la fonction publique.

Anne McLellan

L'honorable Anne McLellan est entrée chez Bennett Jones S.E.N.C.R.L. après une brillante carrière dans la politique fédérale. Elle a rempli quatre mandats de députée libérale d'Edmonton Centre de 1993 à 2006 et a détenu les portefeuilles de Vice-première ministre du Canada, ministre de la Sécurité publique et des Mesures d'urgence, ministre de la Santé, ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada, et ministre des Ressources naturelles et interlocutrice fédérale auprès des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits. En tant que Vice-première ministre, elle a présidé deux comités du Cabinet, à savoir le Comité des opérations et le Comité de la sécurité, de la santé publique et de la protection civile. En juillet 2006, elle a été nommée chercheuse invitée de haute distinction à l'Institute for United States Policy Studies de l'Université de l'Alberta et est actuellement directrice par intérim de cet organisme.

Denis Stairs

Denis Stairs, professeur émérite de sciences politiques à l'Université Dalhousie; ancien président de l'Association canadienne de science politique; directeur fondateur du Centre for Foreign Policy Studies; officier de l'Ordre du Canada.

Ouvrages participants et gagnants des années précédents 2008

Gagnant Du Prix Donner

Arctic Front: Defending Canada in the Far North
par Ken S. Coates, P. Whitney Lackenbauer, William R. Morrison et Greg Poelzer
Thomas Allen Publishers

Ce volume véritablement intégré, réalisé par quatre des principaux spécialistes canadiens du Grand Nord, est un cri d’alarme lancé pour stigmatiser la menace qui pèse sur notre région arctique et inciter tous les Canadiens à s’éloigner des mythes et symboles du passé pour répondre à l’urgence des réalités politiques, environnementales et économiques du 21e siècle.

Ken S. Coates avait été finaliste du Prix Donner en 2000 pour son ouvrage The Marshall Decision and Native Rights (McGill-Queen’s University Press). Il est professeur d’histoire et doyen de la Faculté des lettres et sciences humaines de l’Université de Waterloo. P. Whitney Lackenbauer est professeur adjoint d’histoire à l’Université Saint-Jérôme, fédérée avec l’Université de Waterloo. William R. Morrison est professeur d’histoire à l’Université du Nord de la Colombie-Britannique. Greg Poelzer est doyen fondateur des études de premier cycle de l’Université de l’Arctique et professeur adjoint en sciences politiques à l’Université de la Saskatchewan.

Seconds Favoris

Chasing a Mirage: The Tragic Illusion of an Islamic State
par Tarek Fatah
John Wiley & Sons, Canada

Un livre fascinant qui cherche à faire la différence entre État islamique et état d’Islam. Peut-on mettre un frein à un millénaire d’agression? Chasing a Mirage répond sans équivoque en proposant un remède à la violence politique peu favorable à l’Islam et à son état de grâce et de paix.

Tarek Fatah est présentateur de l’émission télévisée hebdomadaire Muslim Chronicle, et fréquent collaborateur du Toronto Star, du Globe and Mail et du National Post. Le Cercle national des journalistes du Canada lui a décerné son Prix de la liberté de la presse 2007. En 2002, son travail dans la communauté a été récompensé par la Médaille du jubilé d’or de la Reine Élisabeth II.

Fixing the Future: How Canada's Usually Fractious Governments Worked Together to Rescue the Canada Pension Plan
par Bruce Little
Rotman / University of Toronto Press Publishing

Alors que les batailles contre le déficit ont été relatées à maintes reprises, l’histoire de la réforme qui a secouru le RPC a presque entièrement échappé à la chronique. Dans cet ouvrage bien informé et facile à lire, Bruce Little explique la restructuration du RPC et montre ce qui en fait l’une des plus grandes réussites du Canada en matière de politiques publiques.

Bruce Little a été journaliste et analyste de politiques, principalement comme rédacteur et chroniqueur économique au Globe and Mail, et plus récemment en qualité de conseiller spécial du gouverneur de la Banque du Canada.

The Limits of Boundaries: Why City-regions Cannot be Self-governing
par Andrew Sancton
McGill-Queen's University Press

Les communautés urbaines prenant une importance croissante comme sources d’innovation et de richesse dans notre société, faut-il en conclure que leurs instances dirigeantes deviendront de plus en plus autonomes au point de se gouverner elles-mêmes? Andrew Sancton combine sa propre connaissance approfondie des changements mondiaux à une esquisse comparative des points de vue d’éminents spécialistes en sciences sociales pour remettre en cause les idées établies.

Andrew Sancton est professeur de sciences politiques et directeur du programme d’administration des collectivités locales à l’Université Western Ontario.

Disrobing the Aboriginal Industry: The Deception Behind Indigenous Cultural Preservation
par Frances Widdowson & Albert Howard
McGill-Queen's University Press

Malgré les milliards de dollars consacrés à leurs causes, les populations autochtones du Canada continuent de souffrir de tous les symptômes d’une existence marginalisée : taux élevé de toxicomanie, violence et pauvreté. Disrobing the Aboriginal Industry fait valoir que les politiques proposées pour remédier à ces problèmes contribuent en fait à leur enracinement.

Frances Widdowson enseigne au Département d’études politiques du Mount Royal College. Albert Howard a été consultant auprès du gouvernement et de groupes autochtones; il est actuellement instructeur et directeur de programmes au Kennedy College of Technology, à Toronto.

The Donner Prize - The Award for the Best Book on Canadian Public Policy
Francais

Grant L. Reuber
Chair

Senior Fellow, C.D. Howe Institute; former Chairman, Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation; former President and Chief Operating Officer and later Deputy Chairman, Bank of Montreal; former Deputy Minister of Finance for Canada; former provost and Vice-President (Academic) of the University of Western Ontario; Officer of the Order of Canada; Fellow, Royal Society of Canada.

Claude E. Forget

Former Minister of Health for the Quebec government; former Chairman of the Commission of Enquiry on Unemployment Insurance; Officer of the Order of Canada.

V. Peter Harder

Peter Harder is Senior Policy Advisor to Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP. Harder possesses a wealth of expertise in public policy as a result of his involvement at the centre of government decision making for over thirty years. Harder was the longest serving Deputy Minister in the Government of Canada. First appointed a Deputy Minister in 1991, he served as the most senior public servant in a number of federal departments including Treasury Board, Solicitor General, Citizenship and Immigration, Industry and Foreign Affairs and International Trade. At Foreign Affairs, he assumed the responsibilities of the Personal Representative of the Prime Minister to three G8 Summits (Sea Island, Gleneagles and St. Petersburg). In 2000, the Governor General presented Harder with the Prime Minister's Outstanding Achievement Award for public service leadership.

Anne McLellan

The Honourable Anne McLellan joined Bennett Jones LLP after a distinguished career in federal politics, where she served four terms as the Liberal Member of Parliament for Edmonton Centre from 1993-2006. During her political career McLellan was Deputy Prime Minister of Canada, Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Minister of Health, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada and Minister of Natural Resources and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians. As Deputy Prime Minister, she chaired two Cabinet committees: the Operations Committee and the Security, Public Health and Emergencies Committee. She was appointed Distinguished Scholar in Residence at the University of Alberta's Institute for United States Policy Studies in July 2006 and currently is acting director of the Institute.

Denis Stairs

Dr. Stairs is a Professor Emeritus of Political Science at Dalhousie University, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and a past-President of the Canadian Political Science Association. The founding Director of the Centre for Foreign Policy Studies, he was Dalhousie's Vice President (Academic and Research) from 1988 to 1993. He is currently the Chair of the Board of Visitors of the Canadian Forces College, a Fellow of the Canadian Defence and Foreign Affairs Institute in Calgary, and a member of its Advisory Council, and an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Past Winners 2008

Winner

Arctic Front: Defending Canada in the Far North
by Ken S. Coates, P. Whitney Lackenbauer, William R. Morrison & Greg Poelzer
Thomas Allen Publishers

A truly integrated volume by four of Canada's leading Northern specialists, Arctic Front is a clarion call to all Canadians about our endangered Arctic region, challenging the country to step away from the symbols and myth making of the past and toward the urgent political, environmental and economic realities of the 21st century.

Ken S. Coates was short-listed for the Donner Prize in 2000 for The Marshall Decision and Native Rights (McGill-Queen's University Press). He is Professor of History and Dean of Arts, University of Waterloo. P. Whitney Lackenbauer is an Assistant Professor of History at St. Jerome's University, University of Waterloo. William R. Morrison is Professor of History, University of Northern British Columbia. Greg Poelzer is the founding Dean of Undergraduate Studies for the University of the Arctic and an Associate Professor of Political Science, University of Saskatchewan.

Runners-Up

Chasing a Mirage: The Tragic Illusion of an Islamic State
by Tarek Fatah
John Wiley & Sons, Canada

A fascinating book that seeks to differentiate between the Islamic State and the state of Islam. Can a millennia of aggression be brought to a halt? Chasing a Mirage is unequivocal in its answer and its remedy to end political violence that is inimical to Islam and its state of grace and peace.

Tarek Fatah is co-host of the CFRB 1010 daily afternoon radio show, Strong Opinions with Tarek Fatah and Michael Coren, and a frequent contributor to the Toronto Star, The Globe and Mail, and the National Post. In 2007, the National Press Club of Canada awarded Fatah the 2007 Press Freedom Award. He is the founder of the Muslim Canadian Congress, an organization that has been a vigourous advocate for a separation of religion and state.

Fixing the Future: How Canada's Usually Fractious Governments Worked Together to Rescue the Canada Pension Plan
by Bruce Little
Rotman / University of Toronto Press Publishing

While the deficit battles have been recounted many times, the story of the reform that rescued the CPP has gone almost entirely untold. In the readable and authoritative Fixing The Future, Bruce Little explains the CPP overhaul and shows how it stands as one of Canada's most significant public policy success stories.

Bruce Little has worked as a journalist and policy analyst, primarily at The Globe and Mail as an economics writer and columnist, and recently as Special Adviser to the Governor of the Bank of Canada.

The Limits of Boundaries: Why City-regions Cannot be Self-governing
by Andrew Sancton
McGill-Queen's University Press

With city-regions becoming increasingly important as sources of innovation and wealth in our society, does it follow that their institutions of government will become increasingly autonomous and ultimately self-governing? Andrew Sancton combines his own broad knowledge of global changes with an outline and comparison of the viewpoints of prominent social scientists to challenge accepted wisdom.

Andrew Sancton is Professor of Political Science and Director of the Local Government Program at the University of Western Ontario.

Disrobing the Aboriginal Industry: The Deception Behind Indigenous Cultural Preservation
by Frances Widdowson & Albert Howard
McGill-Queen's University Press

Despite the billions of dollars devoted to aboriginal causes, Native people in Canada continue to suffer all the symptoms of a marginalized existence: high rates of substance abuse, violence and poverty. Disrobing the Aboriginal Industry argues that the policies proposed to address these problems are in fact contributing to their entrenchment.

Frances Widdowson is a faculty member, Department of Policy Studies, Mount Royal College. Albert Howard has worked as a consultant for government and Native groups and is currently an instructor and Director of Programs, Kennedy College of Technology, Toronto.