Le Prix Donner - Le Prix du meilleur ouvrage sur les politiques publiques rédigé par un auteur canadien.
English
Le jury 2015

A. Anne McLellan
Présidente

L’honorable Anne McLellan est entrée chez Bennett Jones LLP après une brillante carrière dans la politique fédérale, où elle a rempli quatre mandats de députée libérale d’Edmonton Centre de 1993 à 2006. Au cours de sa carrière politique, Mme McLellan a détenu les portefeuilles de vice-première ministre du Canada, ministre de la Sécurité publique et des Mesures d’urgence, ministre de la Santé, ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada, et ministre des Ressources naturelles ainsi qu’interlocutrice fédérale auprès des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits. Elle occupe le poste de vice-présidente du conseil d'administration de l'Institut de recherche en politiques publiques. En juillet 2006, elle a été nommée chercheuse émérite de haute distinction à l’Alberta Institute for American Studies de l’Université de l’Alberta, un poste qu’elle a occupé jusqu’à ce qu'elle prenne sa retraite le 30 juin 2013.

Jean-Marie Dufour

En tant qu'officier de l'Ordre du Canada et de l'Ordre national du Québec, Jean-Marie Dufour est titulaire de la chaire William Dow et professeur d'économie politique à l'Université McGill, et titulaire de la bourse de recherche de la Banque du Canada. Il est également directeur de l'Atelier canadien d'économétrie, membre du conseil d'administration du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (juin 2013), et chercheur auprès du Centre interuniversitaire de recherche en analyse des organisations (CIRANO) et du Centre interuniversitaire de recherche en économie quantitative (CIREQ). Il a été président de l'Association canadienne d'économique et de la Société canadienne de science économique. Il est membre titulaire de la Société royale du Canada, de l'Econometric Society et de l'American Statistical Association, et a été titulaire de la bourse Guggenheim en 2006-2007, et titulaire de la chaire Pierre-de-Fermat (École d’économie de Toulouse, 2012-2013). Le Dr Dufour, qui est officier de l'Ordre national du Québec, a reçu la bourse de recherche Konrad Adenauer (Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Allemagne), le prix Léon-Gérin (Gouvernement du Québec) et le prix Izaak-Walton-Killam en sciences sociales.

Peter George

Peter George, qui a reçu l'Ordre du Canada et l'Ordre de l'Ontario, est un économiste ayant des intérêts variés dans le domaine de la politique. Il a occupé les fonctions de président et vice-chancelier de l’Université McMaster de 1995 à 2010. Avant cela, il a été président du Conseil des universités de l’Ontario, de 1991 à 1995. Le Dr George a présidé l’Expert Panel on Health Professional Human Resources de l'Ontario et a été membre du conseil d’administration de l’Institut C.D. Howe, de l’Institut de recherche sur le travail et la santé et de l’Ontario Institute for Cancer Research. Il est actuellement membre du conseil d’administration de la Kids Health Links Foundation et de la LORAN Foundation, ainsi que du conseil consultatif du Fonds pour la recherche en Ontario, du musée Aga Khan, et exerce la fonction de conseiller principal du Réseau international pour l'eau, l'environnement et la santé de l’Université des Nations Unies.

V. Peter Harder

Peter Harder est conseiller principal en matière de politique chez Dentons Canada LLP. Avant de rejoindre Dentons en 2007, il a longtemps été sous-ministre au sein du gouvernement du Canada. M. Harder est également directeur d'un certain nombre de sociétés publiques, et président du Conseil d'affaires Canada-Chine et d'un certain nombre d'organismes à but non lucratif. En 2000, la Gouverneure générale a décerné à M. Harder le Prix pour services insignes de la fonction publique du Canada. Il a également reçu les médailles du jubilé d'or (2002) et de diamant (2012) de la reine Elizabeth II. Il est titulaire d'un LL.D. de l'Université de Waterloo.

Jennifer A. Jeffs

La Dre Jennifer A. Jeffs est la présidente sortante du Conseil international du Canada (CIC), l’institut indépendant, non partisan du Canada qui s’intéresse aux affaires internationales. La Dre Jeffs est actuellement coprésidente du comité de rédaction international du Journal international, le plus important journal des affaires internationales du Canada, et membre du comité de rédaction du Foreign Affairs Latinoamerica; elle est administratrice du Centro de Estudios y Programas Interamericanos (CEPI), à Mexico; administratrice du Conseil international canadien; administratrice du World Wildlife Fund, Canada; et membre du conseil exécutif de l'Initiative canado-mexicaine. Elle était auparavant directrice générale adjointe du Centre pour l’innovation dans la gouvernance internationale (CIGI), à Waterloo, et elle a aussi fondé et dirigé le Centro de Estudios y Programas Interamericanos (CEPI), dont le siège est à l'Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México (ITAM), à Mexico, où elle a également enseigné au Département d’études internationales. Elle est titulaire d’un doctorat en économie politique internationale de l’Université de Toronto. Sa thèse portait sur l'évolution des régimes financiers mondiaux.

Ouvrages participants et gagnants des années précédents 2015

Gagnant Du Prix Donner

What Is Government Good At?: A Canadian Answer
Donald J. Savoie
McGill-Queen’s University Press

Dans son nouveau livre, Donald Savoir débute par une simple question : Qu’est-ce que le secteur public peut faire de mieux que le secteur privé? Savoie admet que le secteur public est aux prises avec de sérieux défis, mais pour trouver des solutions à ces problèmes, il affirme que nous devons mieux comprendre les forces du gouvernement. En répondant à cette question, Savoie explore également dans ce livre ce que le gouvernement devrait améliorer.

Assister à l’allocution d’acceptation du prix

Seconds Favoris

Middle Power, Middle Kingdom: What Canadians Need to Know about China in the 21st Century
David Mulroney
Allen Lane/Penguin Canada

Middle Power, Middle Kingdom examine l’impact direct de la montée de la Chine sur la prospérité économique du Canada, sur sa santé, sur son bien-être et sur sa sécurité. En plaidant pour davantage de « compétence chinoise » au sein des Canadiens, Mulroney soutient que nous ne devrions ni diaboliser la Chine ni tenir pour acquis qu’elle nous ressemble. À l’aide de sa vaste expérience et distinguée carrière dans le corps diplomatique du Canada, Mulroney procure au lecteur sa vision stratégique quant au fonctionnement de la politique étrangère et de la façon dont les politiques doivent changer si le Canada veut un avenir prospère.

From Treaty Peoples to Treaty Nation: A Road Map for All Canadians
Greg Poelzer et Ken S. Coates
UBC Press

Dans cet ouvrage qui arrive à point nommé, Poelzer et Coates font un survol de l’histoire, des politiques, des suppositions culturelles et des opinions divergentes qui appuient l’histoire compliquée du Canada en tant qu’état signataire. Défenseurs de « l’égalité des chances » pour les peuples indigènes du Canada, ils proposent également des façons innovatrices dont le Canada et les Canadiens – indigènes ou non – pourraient se servir afin d’améliorer, ensemble, l’égalité sociale, politique et économique du pays. Ils concluent en affirmant qu’une réconciliation durable doit se baser sur le respect des cultures indigènes, sur une réforme politique et sur l’opportunité économique.

Les Grandes Universités de Recherche
Robert Lacroix & Louis Maheu
Les Presses de l’Université de Montréal

Les universités jouent un rôle clé, parfois conflictuel, dans notre société. Elles servent de plaques tournantes en recherche et innovation, elles éduquent les leaders de demain et font avancer les connaissances. Dans ce livre, Lacroix et Maheu discutent du fait que les universités de recherche doivent trouver un équilibre entre le contrôle de l’état et l’autonomie académique, qui pour sa part se trouve au carrefour du leadership universitaire audacieux, des politiques gouvernementales créatives et du soutien de l’industrie privée. Les auteurs concluent que si le Canada veut demeurer compétitif globalement, il doit favoriser une économie du savoir qui forme efficacement et conserve ses diplômés du doctorat.

Back to the Well: Rethinking the Future of Water
Marq de Villiers
Goose Lane Editions

Les sécheresses, les inondations et la contamination de l’eau potable à travers le monde continuent d’amener le sujet de l’eau à l’avant-plan de la conscience publique. Dans cet examen rafraîchissant et lucide de l’avenir de l’eau, de Villiers suggère, de façon controversée, qu’il n’a pas de crise globale de l’eau. Plutôt, il propose que les problèmes liés à l’eau sont de nature fondamentalement locale et régionale et que la meilleure façon de les régler est à l’aide de solutions locales communautaires.

Gagnants des années précédents

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2001

2000

1999

1998

Donald Savoie est le détenteur de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en administration publique et gouvernance de l’Université de Moncton.

Cliquez pour voir le video Savoie

David Mulroney est le président du St. Michael’s College à l’Université de Toronto et a été Ambassadeur du Canada en République populaire de Chine de 2009 à 2012.

Cliquez pour voir le video Mulroney

Greg Poelzer est le Président exécutif de l’University of Saskatchewan’s International Centre for Northern Governance and Development.

Ken S. Coates est le directeur de l’International Centre for Northern Governance and Development at the University of Saskatchewan.

Cliquez pour voir le video Poelzer Coates

Robert Lacroix est l’ancien recteur de l’Université de Montréal, où il est toujours professeur d’économie.

Louis Maheu est professeur émérite de sociologie à l’Université de Montréal.

Cliquez pour voir le video maheau lacroix

Marq de Villiers est l’auteur de 15 livres, incluant Water: The Fate of our Most Precious Resource, gagnant du Prix littéraire du Gouverneur général catégorie essais littéraires et du Prix de l’Association canadienne des rédacteurs scientifiques.

Cliquez pour voir le video villiers

The Donner Prize - The Award for the Best Book on Canadian Public Policy
Francais
Jury 2015

A. Anne McLellan
Chair

The Honourable Anne McLellan joined Bennett Jones LLP after a distinguished career in federal politics, where she served four terms as the Liberal Member of Parliament for Edmonton Centre from 1993-2006. During her political career McLellan was Deputy Prime Minister of Canada, Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Minister of Health, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada and Minister of Natural Resources and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians. As Deputy Prime Minister, she chaired two Cabinet committees: the Operations Committee and the Security, Public Health and Emergencies Committee. She is Vice Chair – Board of Directors for the Institute for Research on Public Policy. McLellan was appointed Distinguished Scholar in Residence at the Alberta Institute for American Studies at the University of Alberta in July 2006 but retired from the University of Alberta effective June 30, 2013.

Jean-Marie Dufour

An Officer of the Order of Canada, Jean-Marie Dufour is the William Dow Professor of Political Economy at McGill University and a Bank of Canada Research Fellow. He is also Director of the Canadian Econometric Study Group, a Member of Governing Council of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (June 2013), and Research Fellow at the Center for Interuniversity Research and Analysis on Organizations (CIRANO) and the Center for Interuniversity Research on Quantitative Economics (CIREQ). Dr. Dufour has served as President of the Canadian Economics Association and the Société canadienne de science économique. He is a Fellow of The Royal Society of Canada, the Econometric Society and the American Statistical Association, and was a Guggenheim Fellow in 2006-2007. An Officer of the National Order of Québec, Dr. Dufour is a recipient of the Konrad Adenauer Research Award (Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany), the Léon-Gérin prize (Government of Québec), and the Izaak-Walton-Killam Award for social sciences.

Peter George

Recipient of the Order of Canada and the Order of Ontario, Peter George is an economist with broad policy interests. He was President and Vice-Chancellor of McMaster University, from 1995 until 2010. Previously, he was President of the Council of Ontario Universities from 1991 to 1995. Dr. George has served as Chair of the Ontario Expert Panel on Health Human Resources, and on the Boards of the C.D. Howe Institute, the Institute for Work and Health, and the Ontario Cancer Institute. He is currently a Board member of the Kids Health Links Foundation, the LORAN Foundation, the Ontario Research Fund's Advisory Board, the Aga Khan Museum, and is Senior Advisor to the United Nations University's Institute for Water, Environment and Health.

Peter George

Recipient of the Order of Canada and the Order of Ontario, Peter George is an economist with broad policy interests. He was President and Vice-Chancellor of McMaster University, from 1995 until 2010. Previously, he was President of the Council of Ontario Universities from 1991 to 1995. Dr. George has served as Chair of the Ontario Expert Panel on Health Human Resources, and on the Boards of the C.D. Howe Institute, the Institute for Work and Health, and the Ontario Cancer Institute. He is currently a Board member of the Kids Health Links Foundation, the LORAN Foundation, the Ontario Research Fund's Advisory Board, and is Senior Advisor to the United Nations University's Institute for Water, Environment and Health.

V. Peter Harder

Peter Harder is Senior Policy Advisor to Dentons Canada LLP. Before joining Dentons in 2007, he was a long serving Deputy Minister in the Government of Canada. Harder also serves as a corporate director on a number of public companies as well as President of the Canada China Business Council and a number of not for profit organizations. In 2000, the Governor General presented Harder with the Prime Minister’s Outstanding Achievement Award for public service leadership. He is also the recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Golden (2002) and Diamond (2012) Jubilee medals. He has an LLD from the University of Waterloo.

Jennifer A. Jeffs

Dr. Jennifer A. Jeffs is the past President of the Canadian International Council (CIC), Canada’s independent, non-partisan, international affairs institute. Dr. Jeffs currently co-chairs the international editorial board of International Journal, Canada’s premier international affairs journal, and is a member of the editorial advisory board of Foreign Affairs Latinoamerica; a Director of the Centro de Estudios y Programas Interamericanos (CEPI) in Mexico City; a Director of the Canadian International Council; a Director of World Wildlife Fund, Canada; and a member of the Executive Council of the Canada-Mexico Initiative. Dr. Jeffs’ former positions include Deputy Executive Director at the Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI) in Waterloo; Founding Director of the Centro de Estudios y Programas Interamericanos (CEPI), based at the Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México (ITAM) in Mexico City, where she was also a professor in the Department of International Studies. Dr. Jeffs holds a Ph.D. in International Political Economy from the University of Toronto. Her dissertation focused on the evolution of global financial regimes.

Past Winners 2015

Winner

What Is Government Good At?: A Canadian Answer
Donald J. Savoie
McGill-Queen’s University Press

In his new book, Donald Savoie begins with a simple question: What is it that the public sector can do better than the private sector? Savoie acknowledges that the public sector is grappling with serious challenges, but in order to adequately address those challenges, he contends that we require a more acute understanding of what government is good at. In answering that question, Savoie’s book also speaks to the question of what government is not good at.

Watch the Acceptance Speech

Runners-Up

Middle Power, Middle Kingdom: What Canadians Need to Know about China in the 21st Century
David Mulroney
Allen Lane/Penguin Canada

Middle Power, Middle Kingdom examines the direct impact of China’s rise on Canada’s economic prosperity, health and well-being, and security. In making the case for more ‘China competence’ amongst Canadians, Mulroney argues that we should neither demonize China nor should we assume that it is like us. Drawing lessons from his long and distinguished career in Canada’s diplomatic corps, Mulroney provides strategic insight into how foreign policy works, and how policies must be changed if Canada is to prosper in the future.

From Treaty Peoples to Treaty Nation: A Road Map for All Canadians
Greg Poelzer & Ken S. Coates
UBC Press

In this timely book, Poelzer and Coates provide an overview of the history, policies, cultural assumptions and divergent opinions that underpin Canada’s complicated history as a treaty nation. Advocating for ‘equality of opportunity’ for Canada’s indigenous peoples, they also lay out innovative ideas for how Canada and Canadians – indigenous and non-indigenous – can move together toward greater social, political and economic equality. They conclude by saying that sustainable reconciliation must rest on respect for indigenous cultures, political reform, and economic opportunity.

Leading Research Universities in a Competitive World
Robert Lacroix & Louis Maheu
McGill-Queen’s University Press

Universities play a central, sometimes conflicting, role in our society, serving as hubs of research innovation, educating the leaders of tomorrow, and advancing knowledge. With this book, Lacroix and Maheu argue that research universities must find an equilibrium between state regulation and academic autonomy, which is itself located at the intersection between bold university leadership, imaginative government policies and support from private industry. The authors conclude that if Canada wants to remain competitive globally, it must foster a knowledge-based economy that effectively trains and retains PhD graduates.

Back to the Well: Rethinking the Future of Water
Marq de Villiers
Goose Lane Editions

Drought, floods, and contaminated fresh water crises around the globe continue to bring the critical issue of water to the forefront of the public consciousness. In this refreshing and clear-eyed examination of the fate and future of water, de Villiers controversially suggests that there is no global water crisis. Instead, he proposes that water problems are fundamentally local and regional in nature, and are therefore most effectively addressed through local grassroots solutions.

Past Winners

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2001

2000

1999

1998

Donald Savoie is the Canada Research Chair in Public Administration and Governance at the Université de Moncton.

Click to watch the Savoie video

David Mulroney is the President of St. Michael’s College at the University of Toronto and previously served as ambassador of Canada to the People’s Republic of China from 2009 to 2012.

Click to watch the Mulroney video

Greg Poelzer is the Executive Chair of the University of Saskatchewan’s International Centre for Northern Governance and Development.

Ken S. Coatesis the Director of the International Centre for Northern Governance and Development at the University of Saskatchewan.

Click to watch the Poelzer Coates video

Robert Lacroix is the former Rector of the Université de Montréal, where he remains a Professor of Economics.

Louis Maheu is a Professor Emeritus in Sociology at the Université de Montréal.

Click to watch the Lacroix Maheu video

Marq de Villiers is the author of fifteen books, including Water: The Fate of our Most Precious Resource, winner of the Governor General’s Award for non-fiction and the Canadian Science Writers Award.

Click to watch the Villiers video