Le Prix Donner - Le Prix du meilleur ouvrage sur les politiques publiques rédigé par un auteur canadien.
English

Les ouvrages finalistes du prix Donner 2017/2018 sont les suivants

Charte Canadienne et droits linguistigues: Pour en finir avec les mythe

par Frédéric Bérard (Les Presses de l’Université de Montreél)

Travail audacieux, rigoureux et original traitant des conséquences de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés sur les droits linguistiques de la communauté francophone au Québec. Dans cet ouvrage remarquable d'érudition, l'auteur entend démontrer que la Charte Canadienne n'a pas entraîné de discrimination systémique à l'encontre des droits linguistiques de la communauté francophone au Québec. Il va même plus loin en affirmant que la minorité anglo-québécoise n’a tiré aucun profit de la Charte canadienne. Excellente interprétation juridique et analyse du point de vue de l'unité canadienne. Un ouvrage important dont la lecture est vivement recommandée à tous les Canadiens.

Frédéric Bérard est docteur en droit et politologue, codirecteur fondateur de l’Observatoire national en matière de droits linguistiques, chercheur-collaborateur au Centre de recherche en droit public (CRDP) et post-doctorant en philosophie à l’Université Laval.

A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age

Pushing the Limits: How Schools Can Prepare Our Children Today For the Challenges of Tomorrow

par Kelly Gallagher-Mackay & Nancy Steinhauer (Doubleday Canada)

Les défis du système éducatif liés à l'omniprésence des technologies de l'information et à la nécessité de promouvoir un apprentissage socio-émotionnel constituent les principaux enjeux de politique publique auxquels le pays est confronté aujourd'hui Selon les auteurs, la réforme du système éducatif doit dépasser les débats polémiques entre ceux qui prônent un retour aux méthodes d'apprentissage fondamentales, et ceux qui préconisent le développement de la créativité et des aptitudes en résolution de problèmes. L'ouvrage propose un ensemble de principes qui devraient orienter les réformes éducatives et fournit des exemples concrets d'application de ces principes. Une lecture vivement recommandée aux enseignants, aux parents et aux éducateurs.

Kelly Gallagher-Mackay est professeure adjointe de Droit et Société à l'Université Wilfrid Laurier.

Nancy Steinhauer est directrice de la Mabin School, l'une des premières Changemaker Schools d'Ashoka au Canada.

Stumbling Giants: Transforming Canada’s Banks for the Information Age

par Patricia Meredith & James Darroch (University of Toronto Press)

Dans cet ouvrage opportun et original, Meredith et Darroch affirment que les banques canadiennes négligent les effets dévastateurs et perturbateurs des changements technologiques qui menacent leur existence même. Cet ouvrage est un manifeste de politique qui présente des arguments convaincants en faveur d'une transformation radicale du modèle commercial du secteur bancaire canadien, reposant actuellement sur un réseau de succursales, vers un modèle mieux adapté aux habitudes des usagers à l'ère des applications mobiles. Les auteurs présentent un ensemble cohérent de recommandations qui comprennent l'intégration, la gouvernance responsable et la prospective technologique pour permettre aux banques canadiennes de relever les défis et de saisir les occasions liés à l'ère de la technologie financière. Lecture recommandée à tous les administrateurs de banques et d'entreprises au Canada.

Patricia Meredith est boursière du Clarkson Centre for Business Ethics and Board Effectiveness à la Rotman School of Management, Université de Toronto.

James L. Darroch est professeur adjoint de Gestion stratégique et président du CIT en services financiers à la Schulic School of Business de l'Université York.

Priests of Prosperity: How Central Bankers Transformed the Postcommunist World

Governing Public Private Partnerships

par Joshua Newman (McGill-Queens University Press)

La création récente de la Banque de l’infrastructure du Canada a relancé le débat autour des partenariats public-privé. Cet ouvrage apporte une contribution importante et originale à notre compréhension de la gouvernance des PPP. Newman établit le lien entre la théorie de ce que l'état doit faire et les détails pratiques de ce que l'état peut faire pour nouer des contrats avec des partenaires privés pour la production et la prestation de biens et de services publics. S'appuyant sur une étude de cas comparative, Newman livre une analyse originale qui débouche sur des principes et des pratiques de l'application générale.

Joshua Newman est conférencier à la School of Social and Policy Studies de l'Université Flinders.

A Good Death: Making the Most of Our Final Choices

Too Critical To Fail: How Canada Manages Threats to Critical Infrastructure/

par Kevin Quigley, Ben Bisset & Bryan Mills (McGill-Queens University Press)

Le sujet abordé ici revêt une importance cruciale en matière de politiques publiques. Les événements peu probables mais lourds de conséquences, tels que les attentats terroristes, les catastrophes naturelles ou les pandémies, exercent une énorme influence sur la perception dans l'opinion publique des risques et du rôle de l'état dans l'atténuation de ces risques. Les auteurs adoptent une excellente démarche interdisciplinaire fondée sur l'économie, la politique, la psychologie et la sociologie pour montrer comment les risques sont perçus, réglementés et gérés. Pour illustrer cette source précieuse de documentation, d'analyse et d'information rigoureuses sur la façon dont les gouvernements canadiens s'efforcent de gérer les « cygnes noirs », les auteurs fournissent deux études de cas approfondies sur les régimes chimiques et de transport au Canada, qui viennent étoffer la richesse et la nuance de leurs arguments.

Kevin Quigley est professeur d'Administration publique et directeur du MacEachen Institute for Public Policy and Governance à l'Université Dalhousie.

Ben Bisset est un professionnel des politiques publiques et de l'administration publique, ainsi qu'un ancien analyste de recherche au MacEachen Institute for Public Policy and Governance et à la Critical Infrastructure Protection Initiative de l'Université Dalhousie.

Bryan Mills Mills est avocat en exercice et ancien analyste de recherche au MacEachen Institute for Public Policy and Governance de l'Université Dalhousie.

The Donner Prize - The Award for the Best Book on Canadian Public Policy
Francais

Shortlist 2017/18

Charte Canadienne et droits linguistigues: Pour en finir avec les mythe

by Frédéric Bérard (Les Presses de l’Université de Montréal)

Ground breaking, rigorous and original research into the impact of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms on French language rights in Quebec. This book displays a very high standard of scholarship in its mission to demonstrate that there has been no systematic bias arising from the Canadian Charter against French language rights in Quebec. Moreover; if there has been any tilt it has been to disfavour Quebec Anglophones. A remarkable piece of legal interpretation and analysis from the viewpoint of Canadian unity, and an important book for Canadians to read.

Frédéric Bérard is a doctor of law and political analyst, founding co-director of the National Observatory on Linguistic Rights, researcher-collaborator at the Centre de recherche en droit public (CRDP - public law research center) and postdoctoral fellow in philosophy at Laval University.

Pushing the Limits: How Schools Can Prepare Our Children Today For the Challenges of Tomorrow

by Kelly Gallagher-Mackay and Nancy Steinhauer (Doubleday Canada)

The challenges to education posed by the all-enveloping environment of information technology and the need to instill social-emotional learning constitute the most important set of public policy issues facing the country. The authors argue that educational reform needs to go beyond the harmful and polarizing debates between a return to basics versus the development of creativity and problem-solving skills. The book outlines a set of principles that should guide educational reforms and provides concrete examples of how those principles have been implemented. Teachers, educators and parents would all benefit from reading this book.

Kelly Gallagher-Mackay is an assistant professor of Law and Society at Wilfrid Laurier University.

Nancy Steinhauer is principal of The Mabin School, one of Canada’s first Ashoka Changemaker Schools.

Stumbling Giants: Transforming Canada’s Banks for the Information Age

by Patricia Meredith and James Darroch (University of Toronto Press)

In this timely and original book, Meredith and Darroch argue that Canadian banks are ignoring the dramatic and disruptive effects of info-tech changes that are threatening their very existence. The book is a policy manifesto, developing a compelling case for the need for fundamental change from the branch-focused business model of current Canadian banking, to a model that conforms to the habits of the mobile-app era. The authors present a cohesive set of recommendations that include inclusivity, responsible governance and technological foresight to put Canadian banks track to deal with the challenges and opportunities offered by the fintech age. This book should be read by every corporate and bank board member in Canada.

Patricia Meredith is a fellow of the Clarkson Centre for Business Ethics and Board Effectiveness at the Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto.

James L. Darroch is an Associate Professor of Strategic Management and the CIT Chair in Financial Services at Schulic School of Business, York University.

Governing Public Private Partnerships

by Joshua Newman (McGill-Queens University Press)

The recent establishment of the Canada Infrastructure Bank has led to heightened discussion around public-private partnerships and this book makes an important and original contribution to our understanding to how PPP’s should be governed. Newman successfully makes the connection between the theory of what the state should do and the practical details of what the state can do in establishing contracts with private companies to deliver goods and services to the public. While the focus is on one comparative case study, Newman successfully draws from his very original analysis principles and practices of general application.

Joshua Newman is a lecturer in the School of Social and Policy Studies at Flinders University.

Too Critical To Fail: How Canada Manages Threats to Critical Infrastructure

by Kevin Quigley, Ben Bisset and Bryan Mills (McGill-Queens University Press)

The subject is of key public policy importance. Rare but high impact events — terrorist attacks, natural disasters, pandemics — exert an enormous influence on the public perception both of risk itself and of the responsibility of government to mitigate the risk. The authors use an excellent interdisciplinary approach – weaving insights from economics, politics, psychology and sociology to show how risks are perceived, regulated and managed. A valuable source of rigorous research, analysis and information on how Canadian governments seek to manage for “black swan” events, the authors provide two in-depth cases studies of the chemical and transport regimes in Canada which add to the richness and nuance of their arguments.

Kevin Quigley is professor of public administration and scholarly director of the MacEachen Institute for Public Policy and Governance at Dalhousie University.

Ben Bisset is a public policy and government administration professional, as well as a former research analyst at the MacEachen Institute for Public Policy and Governance and the Critical Infrastructure Protection Initiative at Dalhousie University.

Bryan Mills is a practising lawyer and former research analyst at the MacEachen Institute for Public Policy and Governance at Dalhousie University.