2019 Winner

2019 Winner


Voici une rétrospective des anciens lauréats et des ouvrages finalistes de chaque année. Vous trouverez également la liste des membres du jury pour chaque saison.

2019 Winner

Lauréat 2020

Empty Planet The Shock of Global Population Decline

Breakdown: The Pipeline Debate and the Threat to Canada’s Future,

Dennis McConaghy (Dundurn Press)

Breakdown porte sur un ensemble de questions de politiques les plus controversées et empreintes de conséquences auxquelles le Canada est confronté aujourd’hui – le domaine prioritaire connexe développement des ressources, les changements climatiques, les droits des Autochtones e l’aliénation de l’Alberta. Ce livre décrit les antécédents de quatre projets de pipeline et superpose les décisions politiques qui ont eu pour conséquence que de nombreux projets n’ont pas été soutenus ouont été considérablement retardés. Ce livre est indispensable pour enrichir les discussions sur les pointsde vue des Albertains et le développement des ressources en général. Il est bien documenté etéquilibré, et décrit plusieurs stratégies pragmatiques pour aider le Canada à trouver des solutions à cesenjeux.

Dennis McConaghy est un cadre canadien spécialiste des questions énergétiques qui possède près de quarante ans d’expérience dans le secteur du développement des infrastructures et l’auteur de l’ouvrage Dysfunction: Canada after Keystone XL

Pour acheter le livre de Dennis McConaghy: Breakdown: The Pipeline Debate and the Threat to Canada’s Future

Seconds favoris

Living With China

Empty Planet: The Shock of Global Population Decline

Darrell Bricker et John Ibbitson (Signal/McClelland & Stewart)

Ce livre se veut un regard correctif sur le manque général d’attention porté à la baisse de la population mondiale. Beaucoup pensent encore que la croissance de la population est le problème dans un mondecriblé par la dégradation de l’environnement, les changements climatiques, etc.; cependantl’urbanisation accélérée et l’éducation des femmes signalent une baisse de la fertilité. Cette thèssoulève d’importantes répercussions sur le plan des politiques que les auteurs Bricker et Ibbitso définissent, surtout en ce qui concerne les politiques sur l’immigration et les prévisions économiques long terme. Écrit de façon originale, stimulante et engageante, Empty Planet aborde aussi les enjeuconnexes du déclin démographique, dont les répercussions sur la religion, les populations autochtoneet l’agriculture.

Darrell Bricker Auteur, conférencier et commentateur politique, Darrell Bricker est également le PDG d’Ipsos Public Affairs, la plus grande entreprise de recherche sur l’opinion publique et de recherche sociale au monde.

John Ibbitson est chroniqueur au Globe and Mail, et a occupé le poste de chef de bureau à Ottawa et à Washington DC. Auteur de plusieurs ouvrages, son livre paru en 2005, The Polite Revolution, faisait partie des finalistes du Prix Donner.

Pour acheter le livre de Darrell Bricker and John Ibbitson: Empty Planet: The Shock of Global Population Decline


Living With China

Living With China: A Middle Power Finds Its Way

Wendy Dobson (Rotman-UTP Publishing/University of Toronto Press)

Vu le rôle émergeant de la Chine dans le monde et ses relations actuelles difficiles avec le Canada, LivingWith China donne un aperçu instructif et d’actualité sur une question importante. Il est difficile de trop insister sur l’importance d’établir des relations efficaces et rentables avec la Chine. Dans ce livre, MmDobson, agrégée supérieure à la Fondation Asie Pacifique du Canada, fournit une perspective historique,une description détaillée de la stratégie économique et politique de la Chine, ainsi que de solides recommandations en matière de politiques pour l’avenir.

Wendy Dobson , professeure émérite à l’école Rotman de l’Université de Toronto, enseigne le commerce international et les politiques publiques canadiennes. Elle a publié des ouvrages en anglais et en mandarin portant sur l’économie et le système financier chinois, ainsi que sur l’innovation en Chine.

Pour acheter le livre de Wendy Dobson: Living With China: A Middle Power Finds Its Way


The Wealth of First Nations

The Wealth of First Nations

Tom Flanagan (Fraser Institute)

Clairement axé sur le grand enjeu que représente l’amélioration du bien-être économique et social desPremières Nations, ce livre est très pertinent et traite d’une question permanente de politique. L’analyse faite par Flanagan des façons dont les transferts pourraient être structurés est très originale,et pourrait s’avérer une contribution inédite tant d’un point de vue statistique que politique. Cet ouvrage concis enrichira le débat, et devrait favoriser la discussion et le dialogue sur la manière d’aller de l’avant afin d’équilibrer le développement économique et l’investissement du gouvernement

Tom Flanagan est un professeur émérite de sciences politiques et un membre distingué de l’école des politiques publiques de l’Université de Calgary.

Lire le livre de Tom Flanagan: The Wealth of First Nations


The Tangled Garden

The Tangled Garden: A Canadian Cultural Manifesto for the Digital Age

Richard Stursberg en collaboration avec Stephen Armstrong (James Lorimer & Company Ltd.)

Richard Stursberg en collaboration avec Stephen Armstrong (James Lorimer & Co.)Le problème qui consiste à faire en sorte que la culture canadienne survive aux changements technologiques dans la production et la distribution du contenu numérique figure au premier plan dudébat politique au Parlement. Ici, Stursberg, vétéran de l’industrie, explique la menace que pose FAANG(Facebook, Amazon, Apple, Netflix, Google), présentant à la fois le contexte historique et des recommandations explicites, dont une définition plus claire de ce que l’on entend par contenu canadien ainsi que des approches possibles pour subventionner ce contenu. Stursberg dresse un portrait peu encourageant du statu quo et dénote un besoin urgent d’action en matière de politiquepour uniformiser les règles du jeu.

Richard Stursberg Menant une carrière de radiodiffuseur, Richard Stursberg a exercé les fonctions de directeur général du service des téléfilms et de chef des services de langue anglaise à la CBC. Il est actuellement président de PEN Canada.

Pour acheter le livre de Richard Stursberg avec Stephen Armstrong: The Tangled Garden: A Canadian Cultural Manifesto for the Digital Age

2020 DONNER JURY

David A. Dodge

Président

M. David A. Dodge, O.C., M.S.R.C., est le président du jury du Prix Donner. Ancien gouverneur de la Banque du Canada de 2001 à 2008 et chancelier de l’Université Queen’s de 2008 à 2015, M. Dodge est actuellement conseiller principal auprès de Bennett Jones LLP, président du Conseil national de l'Institut C.D. Howe, et membre des conseils d'administration de l'ICRA et du Conseil des académies canadiennes (CAC). Au cours de sa carrière au sein du gouvernement, il a été délégué auprès du G7, sous-ministre des Finances et sous-ministre de la Santé. Durant sa carrière universitaire, il a enseigné l'économie auprès de l'Université Queen's, de l'École d'études internationales supérieures de l'Université Johns Hopkins, de la Faculté de commerce de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, puis de l'Université Simon Fraser.


Dr. Elizabeth Cannon

Mme Elizabeth Cannon, Ph. D., est présidente émérite et professeure de génie géomatique à l’Université de Calgary, où elle a occupé le poste de présidente et vice-chancelière de juillet 2010 à décembre 2018. Avant son mandat en tant que présidente, Mme Cannon était doyenne du complexe de l’école d’ingénierie Schulich de l’Université de Calgary. En sa qualité d’experte en génie géomatique et d’ingénieure professionnelle, les recherches effectuées par Mme Cannon sont à l’avant-plan des systèmes de positionnement mondial (GPS) depuis 1984. Elle est ancienne présidente du regroupement des universités canadiennes et a été membre du Conseil des sciences, de la technologie et de l’innovation (CSTI) du ministre fédéral de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique. Mme Cannon est actuellement membre du conseil d’administration de l’Université Aga Khan, membre du Creative Destruction Lab – Rockies et directrice de la Fondation Gairdner. En juin 2019, elle a été nommée officière de l’Ordre du Canada.


Jean-Marie Dufour

M. Jean-Marie Dufour, O.C. et O.Q., est titulaire de la chaire William Dow et professeur d’économie politique à l’Université McGill, ainsi que membre titulaire de l’Econometric Society, de l’American Statistical Association, de l’International Association for Applied Econometrics, de l’Association canadienne d’économique (ACE) et de la Société royale du Canada. Il est également directeur de l’Atelier canadien d’économétrie, ainsi que chercheur auprès du Centre interuniversitaire de recherche en analyse des organisations (CIRANO) et du Centre interuniversitaire de recherche en économie quantitative (CIREQ). M. Dufour a été président de l’Association canadienne d’économique et de la Société canadienne de science économique (SCSE). Au cours de sa carrière universitaire, il a également obtenu une bourse de recherche de la Banque du Canada, et a été titulaire d’une chaire de recherche du Canada (en économétrie à l’Université de Montréal), de la Chaire d’excellence Pierre de Fermat (École d’économie de Toulouse), et de la Chaire d’excellence Banco Santander (Universitad Carlos III de Madrid). En outre, il a reçu de nombreuses récompenses, notamment les Prix Killam et Léon-Gérin en sciences sociales, le Prix John Rae (ACE), le Prix Marcel-Dagenais (SCSE), une bourse Guggenheim et le Prix de la recherche Konrad Adenauer (Fondation Alexander von Humboldt, Allemagne).


Brenda Eaton

Mme Brenda Eaton siège aux conseils d’administration de sociétés d’état, d’entreprises privées et d’organismes sans but lucratif, entre autres. Actuellement présidente de Transelec, elle est également membre des comités de Fortis BC, Westland Insurance, Technical Safety BC et membre du conseil d’administration du Projet de traitement des eaux usées de la zone principale du District régional de Victoria. Avant d’occuper les fonctions de directrice, Mme Eaton a été sous-ministre du premier ministre de la Colombie-Britannique, et sous-ministre des Finances et du Conseil du trésor, de l’Énergie et des Mines, ainsi que des Services sociaux. Pendant plusieurs années, elle a été chef des finances d’une autorité sanitaire. Mme Eaton œuvre activement dans plusieurs organisations sans but lucratif, notamment la Société Alzheimer de la Colombie-Britannique, la Vancouver Foundation, Triathlon Canada et la Fondation Max Bell. Mme Eaton est titulaire d’une maîtrise en économie. Elle a obtenu plusieurs prix de reconnaissance, notamment la Médaille du jubilé de la Reine pour sa contribution communautaire, le prix Distinguished Alumni de l’Université de Victoria et a été reconnue parmi les 100 femmes les plus influentes au Canada par le Réseau des femmes exécutives.


Peter Nicholson

M. Peter Nicholson, O.C., a occupé de nombreuses fonctions au sein du gouvernement, d’entreprises, dans le domaine de la science et de l’enseignement supérieur. Il est né à Halifax et a étudié la physique à l’Université Dalhousie, où il a obtenu un baccalauréat et une maîtrise. Il a poursuivi ses études pour obtenir un doctorat en recherche opérationnelle à l’Université Stanford et a commencé sa carrière universitaire par l’enseignement de l’informatique à l’Université du Minnesota. Le Dr Nicholson a été membre de l’Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse et chef de cabinet adjoint aux politiques au Cabinet du premier ministre. Il a également occupé des postes de cadre supérieur auprès de la Banque Scotia et de la BCE, a été le conseiller spécial du secrétaire général de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques et fut le premier directeur général du Conseil des académies canadiennes. Il partage actuellement son temps entre Annapolis Royal, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et Austin, au Texas.

2019 Winner

2019 Winner


Here’s a look back at past winners and the books that made that year’s shortlist. You’ll also find our Jury from each award season.

2019 Winner

WINNER

Empty Planet The Shock of Global Population Decline

Breakdown: The Pipeline Debate and the Threat to Canada’s Future

Dennis McConaghy (Dundurn Press)

Breakdown addresses arguably one of the most contentious and consequential set of policy issues facing Canada today – the nexus of resource development, climate change, Indigenous rights and Alberta alienation.  It presents the history of four pipeline projects and overlays the political decisions that have resulted in many projects not being supported or being delayed significantly.  It is a necessary contribution to the discussion of the perspectives of Albertans and of resource developers generally.  The book is well researched, balanced and outlines several pragmatic strategies to help Canada find a way through these issues.

Dennis McConaghy is a Canadian energy executive who has nearly forty years of industry experience in infrastructure development and is the author of Dysfunction: Canada after Keystone XL.

Purchase Dennis McConaghy’s book: Breakdown: The Pipeline Debate and the Threat to Canada’s Future

RUNNERS – UP

Living With China

Empty Planet: The Shock of Global Population Decline

Darrell Bricker and John Ibbitson (Signal/McClelland & Stewart)

This book is a timely corrective to the general inattention to declining global population. Many still think of population growth as the problem in a world laden with environmental degradation, climate change, etc.; however, accelerating urbanization and the education of women point to declining fertility. This thesis has important policy implications, which Bricker and Ibbitson outline, especially with future immigration policies, as well as long-term economic forecasting. Original, challenging, engagingly written, Empty Planet also touches on attendant issues of population decline, including impacts on religion, Indigenous populations, and agriculture.

Darrell Bricker is an author, public speaker, political commentator and CEO of Ipsos Public Affairs, the world’s leading social and opinion research firm.

John Ibbitson is a columnist for the Globe &Mail, having served as Bureau Chief in both Ottawa and Washington DC.  Author of several books, his 2005 book, The Polite Revolution, was shortlisted for the Donner Prize.

Purchase Darrell Bricker and John Ibbitson’s book: Empty Planet: The Shock of Global Population Decline


Living With China

Living With China: A Middle Power Finds Its Way

Wendy Dobson (Rotman-UTP Publishing/University of Toronto Press)

Given China’s emerging role in the world, and its current fraught relationship with Canada, Living With China is an au courant and informative look at a critical issue.  It is difficult to exaggerate the importance of establishing a workable and profitable relationship with China.  In this book, Dobson, a Senior Fellow at the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada, provides a historic perspective, a detailed description of China’s economic and political strategy, as well as strong policy recommendations for a path forward.

Wendy Dobson is a Professor Emerita at Rotman School/UofT, teaching international business and Canadian public policy. She has published in English and Mandarin on the Chinese economy, Chinese financial system; and Chinese innovation.

Purchase Wendy Dobson’s book: Living With China: A Middle Power Finds Its Way


The Wealth of First Nations

The Wealth of First Nations

Tom Flanagan (Fraser Institute)

Clearly directed to the key issue of how to improve the economic and social well-being of First Nations, this book is relevant to a priority, and ongoing, policy issue.  Flanagan’s analysis of ways that transfers could be structured is quite original, and a potentially ground-breaking contribution from both a statistical and policy perspective. This concise book is a valuable addition to the debate, and it should promote discussion and dialogue on how to move forward to balance economic development and government investment.

Tom Flanagan is a Professor Emeritus of Political Science and Distinguished Fellow, School of Public Policy, University of Calgary

Read Tom Flanagan’s book: The Wealth of First Nations


The Tangled Garden

The Tangled Garden: A Canadian Cultural Manifesto for the Digital Age

Richard Stursberg with Stephen Armstrong (James Lorimer & Company Ltd.)

The issue of ensuring Canadian culture survives the technological change in the production and distribution of digital content is front and centre in policy debate in Parliament.  Here industry veteran Stursberg clearly outlines the threat from FAANG (Facebook, Amazon, Apple, Netflix, Google), providing both historical context and explicit recommendations, including a clarified definition of Canadian content, as well as possible approaches to subsidizing that content.  Stursberg paints a very dim portrait of the status quo and conveys a sense of urgent need for policy action to level the playing field.

Richard Stursberg a career broadcaster, has served as executive director of Telefilm and head of English Language Services at the CBC.  He is currently President of PEN Canada.

Purchase Richard Stursberg with Stephen Armstrong’s book: The Tangled Garden: A Canadian Cultural Manifesto for the Digital Age

2020 DONNER JURY

David A. Dodge

CHAIR

David A. Dodge, O.C., F.R.S.C., is the Chair of the Donner Prize jury. A former Governor of the Bank of Canada from 2001 to 2008 and Chancellor of Queen’s University from 2008 to 2015, David Dodge is currently Senior Advisor at Bennett Jones LLP, chair of the National Council of the C.D. Howe Institute, and member of the boards of CIFAR and CCA. During his government career, Dr. Dodge has been the G7 Deputy Minister of Finance and Deputy Minister of Health. During his academic career, he taught economics at Queen’s University; at the School of Advanced International Studies, Johns Hopkins University; at the Faculty of Commerce at the University of British Columbia; and at Simon Fraser University.


Dr. Elizabeth Cannon

Dr. Elizabeth Cannon is president emerita and professor, geomatics engineering at the University of Calgary, having served as president and vice chancellor from July 2010 until December 2018. Prior to her term as president, Dr. Cannon served as dean of the Schulich School of Engineering at the University of Calgary. An expert in Geomatics Engineering and a Professional Engineer, Dr. Cannon’s research has been on the forefront of Global Positioning Systems (GPS) since 1984.  She is a past chair of Universities Canada, and was a member of the federal Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development’s Science, Technology and Innovation Council (STIC). Currently, she is a member of the Board of Trustees the Aga Khan University, a Fellow of the Creative Destruction Lab – Rockies, and a Director of the Gairdner Foundation.  In June 2019 she was named an Officer of the Order of Canada.


Jean-Marie Dufour

Jean-Marie Dufour, O.C., O.Q., is the William Dow Professor of Political Economy at McGill University, and Fellow of the Econometric Society, the American Statistical Association, the International Association for Applied Econometrics, the Canadian Economics Association (CEA), and the Royal Society of Canada. He is also the Director of the Canadian Econometric Study Group, and Research Fellow at CIRANO and CIREQ. Dr. Dufour has served as President of the CEA and the Société canadienne de science économique (SCSE). During his academic career, he has also held a Bank of Canada Research Fellowship, a Canada Research Chair (Econometrics, Université de Montréal), the Pierre-de-Fermat Chair of Excellence (Toulouse School of Economics), the Banco Santander Chair of Excellence (Universitad Carlos III de Madrid), and has received numerous prizes, including the Killam and Léon-Gérin Prizes for Social Sciences, the John Rae Prize (CEA), the Marcel-Dagenais Prize (SCSE), a Guggenheim Fellowship, and the Konrad Adenauer Research Award (Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany).


Brenda Eaton

Brenda Eaton is a director serving on corporate, not-for-profit, private and crown corporation boards. Currently Transelec Chair, she is also a member of the Boards of FortisBC, Westland Insurance, Technical Safety BC and the Core Area sewage treatment project board. Prior to becoming a corporate director, Ms. Eaton was Deputy Minister to the Premier of British Columbia, as well as Deputy Minister of Finance and Treasury Board; Energy and Mines; and Social Services. For several years she was Chief Financial Officer at a Health Authority. Ms. Eaton is also active in the not-for-profit sector including Alzheimer’s Society of B.C., Vancouver Foundation, Triathlon Canada and Max Bell Foundation. Ms. Eaton has a Master’s Degree in Economics. She has received several recognition awards including the Queen’s Jubilee Award for community contribution, University of Victoria’s Distinguished Alumni and WXN’s 100 Most Powerful Women in Canada.


Peter Nicholson

Peter Nicholson, O.C., has served in numerous posts in government, business, science and higher education. He was born in Halifax and studied physics at Dalhousie University, where he received bachelor’s and master’s degrees. He went on to get a Ph.D. in operations research at Stanford University and began his academic career by teaching computer science at the University of Minnesota. Dr. Nicholson was a member of the Nova Scotia Legislature and has served as Deputy Chief of Staff for Policy in the Office of the Prime Minister. He has also held senior executive positions with Scotiabank and BCE, was the Special Advisor to the Secretary-General of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development and was the inaugural Chief Executive Officer of the Council of Canadian Academies. He currently splits his time between Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia, and Austin, Texas.